Dosages of UV masterbatches

Dosages of UV masterbatches

Investigation of the effect of a NOR-HALS masterbatch on the properties of ABS/PC in automotive interior applications

Injection-molded components in the automotive industry, such as door panels, glove box components, and center consoles, are predominantly made from (ABS+PC) compounds. The reason for this is material properties such as:

  • High heat resistance, as well as high rigidity and hardness

  • High impact strength

  • Good antistatic properties

  • Poor flammability

However, the greatest challenge for such components is the long-term resistance to the UV portion (300-400nm) of sunlight, which is harmful to plastics. Inadequate or no UV stabilization would result in a deterioration of mechanical properties and/or changes in surface characteristics (e.g., fading, discoloration, or cracking). To avoid such undesirable effects, stabilizers are usually added to the polymers. Processors mix the UV active substance, which is in the form of a masterbatch, with the plastic at certain dosage levels during the molding process. The dosage (wt.-%) of the masterbatch is selected to ensure both sufficient stabilization effectiveness and cost-effectiveness. This results in specific dosage levels (usually 1.0-2.0%) of the UV additive in the final article.

Objective:

Whether and, if so, how the addition of 0.5%, 1.0%, 2.0%, and 3.0% NOR-HALS masterbatch (LV058/16SAN) affects the mechanical properties (impact strength, flexural strength, and heat resistance) of ABS/PC (Novadur Ultra 4105) was examined in detail in the current project of GODIPLAST GmbH.

Figure 1: used Xenotest Beta+ by Atlas Material Testing Solutions
Xenotest Beta+ von Atlas Material Testing Solutions

Procedure:

For this purpose, multipurpose test specimens of type A according to DIN EN ISO 3167 with different dosage levels of UV masterbatch were produced by injection molding. Since optimal dispersion of the NOR-HALS active substance in the base material has a significant impact on the validity of the entire study, the 5 compounds were processed on a single-screw extruder beforehand. Subsequently, ISO bars (80x10x4 mm) were cut from the 450 multipurpose test specimens by sawing off the shoulder parts. Additionally, a double-V-notch according to ISO 179-1/1fA was incorporated into 250 samples.

A total of 360 test specimens were exposed in the weathering test device Xenotest Beta+ by ATLAS MTS according to VDA 75202 ("Automotive interior materials: Colorfastness testing and aging behavior against light at high temperatures: Xenon arc light") for a duration of 220 hours.

After every 55 hours, a series was removed, and the following mechanical test procedures were conducted:

  • Charpy impact test according to DIN EN ISO 179,
  • Flexural test according to DIN EN ISO 178,
  • Heat deflection test according to DIN EN ISO 75-1, -2, -3.

Furthermore, an evaluation of the color change of all exposed samples was conducted using a gray scale according to DIN EN ISO 105-A02.

Figure 2: Goods carrier equipped with notched
ISO bars for insertion into the exposure device

Insights:

The results obtained from the individual test procedures allowed the determination of the optimal dosage of NOR-HALS masterbatch for each specific requirement (impact strength, flexural strength, heat resistance, and colorfastness) of the component. Additionally, it was possible to answer further questions, such as:

  1. Does the position of the weld seam relative to the aged surface of the specimen during the HDT test affect the heat deflection temperature [°C]?
  2. How does the impact strength [kJ/m2] behave when the orientation of the aged surface relative to the hammer edge is changed during impact testing?
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x
en_USEnglish

Dosierungen von UV-Masterbatches

Dosierungen von UV-Masterbatches

Untersuchung der Auswirkung eines NOR-HALS Masterbatches auf die Eigenschaften von ABS/PC bei Fahrzeuginnenanwendungen

Spritzgegossene Bauteile in der Automobilindustrie, wie z.B. Türverkleidungen, Handschuhfach-Komponenten und Mittelkonsolen werden vorwiegend aus (ABS+PC)-Compounds hergestellt. Grund hierfür sind Materialeigenschaften, wie z.B.:

  • Hohe Formbeständigkeit in der Wärme, sowie hohe Steifigkeit und Härte

  • Hohe Kerbschlagzähigkeit

  • Gute antistatische Eigenschaften

  • Schlechte Brennbarkeit

Die größte Herausforderung an solche Bauteile stellt jedoch die dauerhafte Resistenz gegenüber den für Kunststoffe schädlichen UV-Anteil (300-400nm) des Sonnenlichts da. Eine unzureichende oder gar keine UV-Stabilisierung würde sich in einer Verschlechterung der mechanischen Eigenschaften und/oder Veränderung der Oberfläche (z.B. Verblassen, Verfärben oder Bruchbildung) äußern. Um derartig unerwünschte Effekte zu vermeiden, werden den Polymeren meist Stabilisatoren hinzugefügt. Die Verarbeiter mischen hierzu den UV-Wirkstoff, welcher als Masterbatch vorliegt, in bestimmten Dosiergehalten dem Kunststoff, während des Formgebungsprozesses, bei. Die Zugabemenge (Gew.-%) des Masterbatches wird dabei so ausgewählt, dass neben einer ausreichenden Stabilisierungswirkung auch eine hohe Wirtschaftlichkeit gewährleistet ist. Dies führt zu bestimmten Dosiergehalten (i.d.R. 1,0- 2,0-%) des UV-Additivs im Endartikel.

Aufgabenstellung:

Ob und wenn ja, wie sich eine Zugabe von 0,5-; 1,0-; 2,0- und 3,0-% NOR-HALS–Masterbatch (LV058/16SAN) auf die mechanischen Eigenschaften (Kerbschlagzähigkeit, Biegefestigkeit und Wärmeformbeständigkeit) des ABS/PC (Novadur Ultra 4105) auswirkt, wurde im aktuellen Projekt der GODIPLAST GmbH näher untersucht.

Abbildung 1: Verwendetes Bewitterungsgerät
Xenotest Beta+ von Atlas Material Testing Solutions

Durchführung:

Hierzu wurden Vielzweckprobekörper des Typs A nach DIN EN ISO 3167 mit unterschiedlichen Dosiergehalten an UV-Masterbatch im Spritzgussverfahren hergestellt. Da eine optimale Dispergierung des NOR-HALS Wirkstoffs im Trägermaterial erheblichen Einfluss auf die Aussagekraft der gesamten Untersuchung hat, wurden die 5 Compounds zuvor auf einem Einschneckenextruder verarbeitet. Anschließend wurden aus den 450 Vielzweckprobekörpern ISO-Stäbe (80x10x4 mm), durch Absägen der Schulterteile, entnommen. Des Weiteren wurde bei 250 Proben eine Doppel-V-Kerbe nach ISO 179-1/1fA eingearbeitet.

Insgesamt 360 Probekörper wurden in dem Bewitterungsgerät Xenotest Beta+ von ATLAS MTS nach VDA 75202 (,,Werkstoffe der Kraftfahrzeug-Innenausstattung: Farbechtheitsprüfung und Alterungsverhalten gegen Licht bei hohen Temperaturen: Xenonbogenlicht‘‘) für eine Dauer von 220 h exponiert.

Nach je 55h wurde jeweils eine Serie entnommen und folgende mechanische Prüfverfahren durchgeführt:

  • Charpy-Kerbschlagversuch nach DIN EN ISO 179,
  • Biegeversuch nach DIN EN ISO 178,
  • Formbeständigkeitsversuch nach DIN EN ISO 75-1, -2,-3.

Des Weiteren fand eine Bewertung der Änderung in der Farbe aller belichteten Proben anhand eines Graumaßstabes nach DIN EN ISO 105-A02 statt.

Abbildung 2: Mit gekerbten ISO-Stäben bestückter
Warenträger zum Einsetzen in Expositionsgerät

Erkenntnis:

Durch die, aus den einzelnen Prüfverfahren, erhaltenen Ergebnisse konnte für jede spezifische Anforderung (Kerbschlagzähigkeit, Biegefestigkeit, Formbeständigkeit in der Wärme und Farbechtheit) an das Bauteil, der jeweils beste Dosiergehalt an NOR-HALS-Masterbatch ermittelt werden. Außerdem war es möglich weitere Fragestellungen zu beantworten, wie bspw.:

  1. Hat die Lage der Bindenaht zu der gealterten Oberfläche der Probe beim HDT-Versuch einen Einfluss auf die Wärmeformbeständigkeitstemperatur [°C] ?
  2. Wie verhält sich die Kerbschlagzähigkeit [kJ/m²], wenn bei der Schlagrichtung die Anordnung der gealterten Oberfläche zur Hammerschneide gewechselt wird ?
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x